Home / About / Commission


The NEASC Commission on International Education (NEASC-CIE) is a 16-member panel of professional educators and one public member selected by institutional delegates to represent our diverse membership. Commissioners serve for three-year terms (renewable once).


Using the established NEASC-CIE Standards and Principles, commissioners meet four times a year to review Visiting Team Reports for continued and initial accreditation, along with progress reports, five year-reports, special reports and preliminary and preparatory reports. All reports that affect our candidate and accredited schools go before the commission for their input, discussion and decision regarding the status of a school's membership/accreditation. 



Dates indicate the final year of elected terms.


Howard Thiery
Chair of the Commission
Superintendent, Regional School District 10
Burlington, CT  

Walter Plotkin
Vice Chair of the Commission
Former Director, Copenhagen International School

Director of the Commission

Jeffrey C. Bradley
Boston/Burlington, MA USA
View profile



Dr. Shalini Advani
Director, Pathways Noida

Dr. Thomas J. Banks
Head of School, Susquehanna Waldorf School
Marietta, Pennsylvania

Nikolas Bishop
Director, International School of Stavanger

Pilar Cabeza de Vaca
Partner, Educators' Collaborative

Tim Carr
Head of School, Avenues: The World School
Williamstown, Massachusetts

Brad Choyt
Former Head of School, Crossroads Academy
Lyme, NH

Jonathan Costa
Assistant Executive Director, EdAdvance
Litchfield, CT

Andreas G. Koini
Head of School, The Antwerp International School

Jeremy Lewis
Head of School, ACS International School - Egham

Kelly M. Lyman
Superintendent‎, Mansfield Public Schools
Mansfield, CT

Nancy Meislahn
Dean of Admission and Financial Aid Emerita, Wesleyan
Middletown, CT

Kathleen Naglee
Head of School‎, International School of Helsinki

Richard Pacheco
International Educator
Madrid, Spain

Mark Schulz
Deputy Director, Zurich International School